Blunt Advice

In the 6th grade, my mom conspicuously placed a stick of Old Spice deodorant on my dresser. The message was clear. No one likes to be the smelly kid and I was well on my way. Thanks Mom!

I’m not trying to set a stick Old Spice on your dresser, but consider this a friendly reminder that we all need help from time to time. We all need to be told where we can improve. All of us, yes, you and I, can benefit from learning how to write. Don’t believe me? Ask Foreign Policy magazine. Don’t believe them? AskEmployers. Don’t worry, you we can work on your writing.  Let’s start with reading these books:

1. The Basic Classic: The Elements of Style by Strunk and White. Originally published in 1919, before mustaches were ironic.

2. The Weekend Read: Eats, Shoots & Leaves by Lynne Truss. A quick enjoyable book.

3. My latest Amazon purchase: A Rule for Arguments by Anthony Weston. Don’t worry, after my purchase, Amazon still has 199 used copies for a penny.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

