Fear the Filling

Twinkies were dead, then alive again, now I hear they are dead again. They will never die–especially in my heart, or my stomach. I loved licking the sticky cake like substance from my finger tips. Even their packaging made me giddy, but the filling, that made the magic happen all up in my mouth. RIP Twinkies. Wait, that statement makes zero sense.

Let’s all be honest, none of us eat Twinkies, I have not had a Twinkie in years. One of my life rules is that men over the age of 35 should not eat overly processed food–which rules out Hostess treats. Another rule of mine is to avoid unnecessary filling which is over the top. Naturally, I’m talking about personal statements here  and the  Twinkie filling is really a metaphor for wording that one puts into a personal statement to make it sound more academic. Academic wording (meaning any word you encountered in the GRE) distracts from your message. Remember that you get 500 -700 words with the Admission Committee and to make the most of that opportunity, every word counts and should convey why you want to go to graduate school and what you hope to do after graduation. Be yourself, answer the questions and you’ll be fine. Avoid the filling.

 

Brad Miller

Director of Admissions

Leave a Reply

