New kid on the block

My life at the Josef Korbel School began the same day it did for the nearly 200 recently enrolled students of the incoming fall 2012 class. My first day was also their first day of orientation. Therefore, my first day consisted of a variety of information sessions on the various programs and departments within the school and culminated with a welcome barbeque. Orientation is one of my favorite times of year on campus, as the atmosphere is infused with the enthusiasm of both incoming and returning students.

After almost five years as a Graduate Admissions Manager at the University of Denver’s Daniels College of Business, I decided to join the talented admissions team, a mere three buildings away, at the Josef Korbel School of International Studies. Although my office plant is no longer thriving, due to the lack of windows in my new office, I feel right at home. Speaking of, does anyone have any recommendations for office plants that do well without sunlight?

I studied Spanish and Psychology as an undergraduate at the University of Denver and later became an admissions manager for the business school while also earning my Master of Science in Management degree. I was lured to Denver, from Seattle, by the 300-plus days of sunshine promised to me by the DU staff. And, sure enough, there really is a ridiculous amount of sunshine here (even though my plant is still floundering)!

I am an avid NFL fan, specifically the Seahawks, after growing up in the Emerald City. Since moving to Denver for over ten years ago, I have adopted the Broncos as my AFC team, although I am not as emotionally connected to them. Around Denver I enjoy hiking, skiing, yoga, baking, reading and spending time with friends and family.

I am excited about my new role at the Josef Korbel School, and am looking forward to getting to know many of you through the admissions process. I received a very warm welcome from the entire Korbel community, and know that someday, if you apply, are admitted and decide to enroll, you too will have a similar welcome.

Please feel free to contact me if any questions about the admissions process arise.

 

Tara Stenbakken

Associate Director of Graduate Admissions

Josef Korbel School of International Studies

Tara.stenbakken@du.edu

Leave a Reply

