The 2011 I Barely Knew

A mere 11 days remain in 2011. This means the internet is a buzz with the top “year in review” stories including my favorite, Google Zeitgeist.  Admittedly, I was one of the 167 million who searched for Rebecca Black’s “Friday” single online. If you have yet to see this brilliant musical production–don’t, your memory of 2011 will thank you.

My top memories of 2011 include watching my son dance to Moby, spending a week at the beach with my family and running a 3:37 marathon.

Here are some other favorites from my year:

Book: Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen by Christopher McDougall

Album: Undun by The Roots

Restaurant: Illegal Pete’s

Movie: The Help (my wife preferred the book)

iPhone app: Dropbox

My favorite Korbel memories from this past year include having Ban Ki-Moon  and General George Casey on campus and meeting all of our new and talented students. September’s incoming class was one of the most dynamic in recent years and I have a hard time keeping up with their energy.

I failed miserably at meeting 2011’s resolutions. I declared 2011 the year of the salad, and for the most part, I did eat a lot of lettuce. Even had one episode where I ate a salad for breakfast which led me to the vending machine by 9AM for a snicker bar.

I wish you the best in 2012.

Brad Miller

Director of Admissions

University of Denver

Josef Korbel School of International Studies

brad.miller@du.edu

Leave a Reply

