Josef Korbel School Student Blog Campaign

While the admissions office can provide loads of information about application and  degree requirements, financial aid, career/internships, etc., reading our current student blogs will help round out your understanding of what our school offers and what it’s like to be a graduate student at the Josef Korbel School. This year, I’m pleased to inform you that we have 25 student blogs (up from 8 last year) ranging from first year, International student and MA candidate in Global Finance Trade and Economic Integration (GFTEI), Alison Lowe, to second year MA candidate in International Studies, Cliff Martin.

Check out the complete list of Josef Korbel School student blogs.

Here are a few of my favorite student blog excerpts:

  • I haven’t been too good at writing twice a week and for that I apologize *slaps own hand*. Somehow, I’m not entirely sure how, it’s already week 5. Since Korbel’s on a quarter schedule that means this is the middle of the Autumn Quarter. How did that happen?!
  • It’s funny. When I first learned that students typically take 3 courses per quarter I thought to myself “Just 3??!! I’ll have tons of free time, then!”
  • So, here are a few videos to burn your time and, if you’re lucky, actually forestall the inevitable (reading assignment, paper, midterm, checking your online bank statement) like you so fervently pray for. (First on list: Moldovan Eurovision Entires Are Full of Win)
  •  I will leave you with a life lesson I learned today: in dry weather, Blistex 5-star lip protection is f-ing king of lip balm. I’m in love.
  • Yesterday I received confirmation that I had gotten the internship I had interviewed for last week. YAY!
  • This Tuesday I did literally 12 hours of reading. I am not exaggerating. And that was not even all of my reading for my classes.
  • I counted 15 cowboys boots, five of which were coupled with cowboy hats, 2 of which were walking like they had just gotten off their horses.
  • If grad school has taught me anything so far, it’s that you need mad time management skills.
  • I will leave you with a quote from one of my professors that I really made an impact on me, “Compassion has a sharp edge”. I’d love to hear your thoughts about this quote.
  • Wooo weee! Sorry for the long hiatus, but that’ll happen when you haven’t been in school for 12 yrs and papers and mid-terms are creeping up.
  • The next day was Ambassador Cindy Courville, a Korbel alumnus who basically got in all our faces and admonished us to take control of our own careers by finding mentors and generally getting off our butts. All said in the nicest way possible.
  • I particularly love this sequence of headings:

Post 1: Let’s start at the very beginning
Post 2: Statistics can be fun!
Post 3: Wow, life just got crazy
Post 4: Grad school whinings

Happy reading!
Nicole

Nicole Vilegi-Sandage
Associate Director of Graduate Admissions
Nicole.Vilegi@du.edu

Leave a Reply

